Information for international students

Dear international students and applicants,

You want to do an exchange semester or a whole study programme at the PHWT. Here is some information that will help you.

For exchange students

Due to our close collaboration with many companies, PHWT has a slightly different academic calendar. It might be more compatible for some international universities than the one used in Germany (here is the link to the PHWT calendar). All students speak English. Some PHWT programmes have an elective semester where the teaching language is English. The rest of the programme is in German.

PHWT holds the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education and is currently applying to participate in the Erasmus programme for mobility of students and staff. Erasmus Policy Statement

For international applicants

International applicants are very welcome. At the time of application, you need German language skills at C-1 level, for example from the Goethe-Institut, and the equivalent of a German university admission. You can check this here: (https://anabin.kmk.org/anabin.html). Applicants from non-EU countries must also take into account the regulations for student visas. This could include the requirement of a “blocked account” for some countries.

Further links to the Bachelor’s degree programmes, including block phase plans and module handbooks:

 

Study model

The programmes at PHWT are designed as dual study programs (combined study programs). This means that students simultaneously do an apprenticeship in a company (dual) – hence the different academic calendar.  All programmes can also be studied without an apprenticeship (classical).

Tuition fees (non-EU)

Tuition fees are paid by companies for dual students.

Classical students pay their own tuition fees. They are collected monthly by the PHWT. For business programmes including IT, tuition fees are currently € 450 per month. For engineering programmes, tuition fees are € 475 per month.

Accommodation

We help international students at our campuses in Vechta and Diepholz to find affordable accommodation for the duration of their studies at the PHWT. The type of accommodation ranges from rooms with shared bathroom and kitchen to single flats. Prices usually range from €200 to €450 per month.

The region

The region is economically strong, with one of the lowest unemployment rates in Germany, and is surrounded by northern German nature. It is home to many world market leaders and hidden champions who cooperate with PHWT.

Application

Students who are interested in an exchange, please register here (international-office@phwt.de) – even if their university is not a partner of the PHWT. All others: If you would like to apply for one of our programmes, please use the “Applicant Button” at the programme of your choice.

If you also apply for a dual study model, companies may see your application and possibly invite you for an interview. If you are successful, the company will cover your tuition fees and pay you a small salary. Please take into account that you need very good German and a high degree of discipline and reliability to do this.

Informationen für international Studierende

Liebe internationale Studierende und Bewerber:innen

Sie wollen ein Austauschsemester oder ein ganzes Studium an der PHWT absolvieren. Hier sind einige Informationen, die Ihnen dabei weiterhelfen.

Für Austauschstudierende

Aufgrund unserer engen Kollaboration mit vielen Unternehmen hat die PHWT einen etwas anderen akademischen Kalender. Er könnte für einige internationale Universitäten kompatibler sein, als der in Deutschland übliche (hier der Link zum PHWT Kalender). Alle Studierenden sprechen Englisch. Einige PHWT-Programme haben ein Wahlpflichtfach-Semester, indem die Lehrsprache Englisch ist. Der übrige Teil des Studiums ist in Deutsch (hier der Link zu den Programmen).

Für internationale Bewerber:innen

Internationale Bewerber:innen sind sehr willkommen. Zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung benötigen Sie Deutschkenntnisse auf C-1 Niveau, beispielsweise vom Goethe-Institut, und das Äquivalent einer deutschen Hochschulzulassung. Das können Sie hier nachprüfen (https://anabin.kmk.org/anabin.html). Bewerber:innen aus nicht-EU Länder müssen zudem die Regelungen für Studentenvisa berücksichtigen. Das könnte für einige Länder die Anforderung eines „Blocked Account“ beinhalten.

Weiterführende Links zu den Bachelorstudiengängen, inklusive Blockphasenplänen und Modulhandbüchern:

 

Studienmodell

Die Programme der PHWT sind als Duale Studiengänge (combined study programs) konzipiert. Das bedeutet die Studierenden machen gleichzeitig eine Ausbildung in einem Unternehmen (dual) – deshalb der andere akademische Kalender.  Alle Programme können auch ohne eine Ausbildung (klassisch) studiert werden.

Studiengebühren (Nicht-EU)

Die Studiengebühren werden von den Unternehmen für die dualen Studierenden gezahlt.

Klassisch Studierende zahlen ihre Studiengebühren selbst. Sie werden von der PHWT monatlich eingezogen. Für Business-Programme einschließlich IT liegen die Studiengebühren derzeit bei € 450 pro Monat. Für Ingenieur-Programme liegen die Studiengebühren bei € 475 pro Monat.

Unterkunft

Wir helfen internationalen Studierenden an unseren Standorten Vechta und Diepholz eine bezahlbare Unterkunft für die Dauer des Studiums an der PHWT zu finden. Die Art der Unterkünfte rangiert von Zimmern mit geteiltem Bad und gemeinsamer Küche zu Single-Wohnungen. Die Preise liegen üblicherweise zwischen €200 und €450 pro Monat.

Die Region

Die Region ist wirtschaftlich stark, mit einer der geringsten Arbeitslosenquoten in Deutschland und ist von norddeutscher Natur umgeben. Hier sind viele Weltmarktführer und Hidden Champions beheimatet, die mit der PHWT kooperieren.

Bewerbung

Studierende die an einem Austausch interessiert sind, melden sich bitte hier (international-office@phwt.de) – selbst wenn ihre Universität kein Partner der PHWT ist. Alle anderen: Wenn Sie sich für eines unserer Programme bewerben möchten, nutzen Sie bitte den „Bewerber-Button“ beim Programm ihrer Wahl.

Wenn Sie sich auch für ein duales Studienmodell bewerben, können Unternehmen ihre Bewerbung sehen und Sie möglicherweise zu einem Interview einladen. Bei Erfolg wird das Unternehmen Ihre Studiengebühren übernehmen und Ihnen ein kleines Gehalt zahlen. Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass Sie dazu sehr gutes Deutsch und einen hohen Grad an Disziplin und Verlässlichkeit benötigen.